New Brunswick election: Kent North

Green incumbent Kevin Arseneau retains Kent North seat in the 2020 election.

Riding background

The district remained largely unchanged in the 2013 redistricting process. However, it did add parts of the former Rogersville-Kouchibouguac and Kent ridings.

The district was renamed Kent North.


Liberal: Bertrand LeBlanc

  • Previously served as the MLA for Kent North from 2014 to 2018
  • Did not reoffer in the 2018 election

Progressive Conservative: Stephen Robertson

Green: Kevin Arseneau (incumbent)

  • Defeated Liberal candidate Emery Comeau in the 2018 election by earning 45.9 per cent of the vote

Independent: Roger Richard

Story continues below advertisement



Green Party candidate Kevin Arseneau earned 45.9 per cent of the vote to win the seat.

Arseneau defeated Liberal candidate Emery Comeau who earned 37.4 per cent of the vote.

Comeau ran after then Liberal incumbent, Bertrand LeBlanc, chose to not reoffer. 

PC candidate Katie Robertson earned 12.6 per cent of the vote.


Bertrand LeBlanc, the Liberal incumbent for Rogersville-Kouchibouguac, chose to run in Kent North.

LeBlanc easily won the seat, earning 50 per cent of the vote. He defeated Green candidate Rébeka Frazer-Chiasson, who earned 18.2 per cent of the vote.


Bertrand LeBlanc won the 2010 election in Rogersville-Kouchibouguac and flipped the seat for the Liberals.

LeBlanc defeated PC candidate Jimmy Bourque in a race which saw Bourque earn 42.4 per cent of the vote, compared to LeBlanc’s 46 per cent.

Then-Liberal Party leader Shawn Graham retained his seat in Kent in the 2010 election.