New Brunswick election: Shippagan-Lamèque-Miscou

Liberal Eric Mallet wins Shippagan-Lamèque-Miscou seat in the 2020 election.

Riding background

This riding includes the communities of Lameque, Tracadie, Shippagan and Sainte-Marie-Saint-Raphael.

Shippagan-Lamèque-Miscou had been a solidly Progressive Conservative riding since 1978 with the exceptions of the 1987 and 1995 and 2014 elections.

There is no incumbent in this riding.

Robert Gauvin, who won the seat for the PCs in 2018, resigned from his role as Minister of Tourism, Heritage, and Culture and from the Tory caucus in February citing Blaine Higgs’ decisions on health reforms.

On Aug. 18, Gauvin was announced as the Liberal candidate for Shediac Bay-Dieppe


Liberal:  Éric Mallet

Story continues below advertisement

Progressive Conservative: Jean-Gérard Chiasson

Green: Marie Leclerc



PC candidate Robert Gauvin defeated the Liberal incumbent Wilfred Rousell in the 2018 election.

It was a close race with only 99 votes separating the two candidates.

Gauvin won with 46.2 per cent of the vote while Roussel earned 45.1 per cent of the vote.

NDP candidate Albert Rousselle took home with 6.6 per cent of the vote while Independent candidate Philippe Tisseuil earned 2 per cent.


Liberal candidate Wilfred Roussel defeated the PC incumbent Paul Robichaud in the 2014 election.

It was a tight race with only 44 votes separating Roussel and Robichaud.

Roussel earned 46.10 per cent of the vote while Robichaud earned 45.6 per cent.

Until he was defeated, Robichaud had held the seat since 1999.


Story continues below advertisement

PC incumbent Paul Robichaud retained his seat in the 2010 election with 58.9 per cent of the vote in the 2010 election.