Saskatchewan Rattlers capture 1st CEBL championship

Click to play video: 'Saskatchewan Rattlers capture inaugural CEBL championship' Saskatchewan Rattlers capture inaugural CEBL championship
WATCH ABOVE: The Saskatchewan Rattlers defeated the Hamilton Honey Badgers to capture the CEBL championship trophy – Aug 25, 2019

The Saskatchewan Rattlers are the first team ever to hoist the Canadian Elite Basketball League (CEBL) championship trophy.

The Rattlers were guaranteed a spot in the final four playoffs format for the post-season as the host team of the 2019 Championship Weekend in Saskatoon. However, they earned a spot by finishing third in the inaugural regular season.

READ MORE: Saskatchewan Rattlers down Hamilton Honey Badgers for first home win

Saskatchewan edged the Edmonton Stingers 85-83 in the semifinal on Aug. 24 to advance to the final.

The Rattlers were victorious once more, defeating the Hamilton Honey Badgers 94-83 to claim the league’s first title in front of a crowd of 3,119 at SaskTel Centre on Aug. 25.

Story continues below advertisement

WATCH (June 10, 2019): Interest in basketball takes off in Saskatoon

Click to play video: 'Interest in basketball takes off in Saskatoon' Interest in basketball takes off in Saskatoon
Interest in basketball takes off in Saskatoon – Jun 10, 2019

Saskatchewan team captain Alex Campbell was named CEBL Championship Weekend MVP after registering 20 points and 11 rebounds in the final game.

Honey Badger Xavier Rathan-Mayes led all scorers with 24 points.

Saskatchewan captured the first CEBL crown while having nine of its 10 players hailing from Canada. The league rules stipulate that each roster must contain at least 70 per cent Canadian content.

Sponsored content