2019 Canada election results: Newmarket–Aurora

Global News has declared Tony Van Bynen of the Liberal Party the winner in the riding.

The Newmarket–Aurora riding, which started in 2004, is comprised of Newmarket, north Aurora and part of East Gwillimbury. It borders the electoral districts of Aurora–Oak Ridges–Richmond Hill, King–Vaughan, York–Simcoe and Markham–Stouffville.

Since the riding formed 15 years ago, it’s gone back and forth between voting Conservative and Liberal. In 2011 and 2008, the region had the Conservative vote, however it voted Liberal in 2006 and Conservative in 2004.

Van Bynen, previously served as the mayor of Newmarket for 12 years.


Liberal Party: Tony Van Bynen
Conservative Party: Lois Brown
NDP: Yvonne Kelly
Green Party: Walter Bauer
People’s Party: Andrew McCaughtrie
Progressive Canadian Party: Dorian Baxter
Rhinoceros Party: Laurie Goble


Sponsored content