Federal election: Medicine Hat-Cardston-Warner

A map of the Medicine Hat-Cardston-Warner riding.
A map of the Medicine Hat-Cardston-Warner riding. Elections Canada

Global News has declared Conservative incumbent Glen Motz the winner in Medicine Hat-Cardston-Warner.

Motz first won the seat during a byelection in 2016 after the sudden passing of former MP Jim Hillyer.

The Medicine Hat-Cardston-Warner riding in southern Alberta encompasses the City of Medicine Hat, as well as the communities of Cardston, Magrath, Raymond, Bow Island, Redcliff, Warner, Coutts, Milk River and Foremost.

The Conservative Party has held this seat since its formation in 2003.  The last time a non-conservative party candidate won an election in the riding was 1968.


Conservative: Glen Motz (incumbent)

Liberal: Harris Kirschenbaum

NDP: Elizabeth Thomson

People’s Party of Canada: Andrew Nelson

Green Party: Shannon Hawthorne

Independent: Dave Phillips

Story continues below advertisement