2019 Canada election results: Bonavista–Burin–Trinity

Global News has declared Liberal Churence Rogers the winner in the riding of Bonavista-Burin-Trinity.

Rogers has collected 45.9 per cent of the vote with 259 of 260 polls reporting.

A red wave swept over all of Atlantic Canada in the 2015 federal election with voters in Bonavista–Burin–Trinity reelecting Liberal Judy Foote with 81 per cent of the vote.

Foote would later resign due to health reasons. A by-election was held in 2017, with Liberal Churence Rogers winning 69 per cent of the vote.

Rogers – former mayor of Centreville-Wareham-Trinity – has now been re-elected in an area that has been a Liberal stronghold since 2000.


The riding consists of part of the Island of Newfoundland and part of the Avalon Peninsula.

Story continues below advertisement

Bonavista–Burin–Trinity was formed as the result of a redistribution order in 2013 that combined parts of three ridings: Avalon, Random-Burin-St. George’s and Bonavista-Gander-Grand Falls-Windsor.

All of the former ridings that comprise this new riding have been strongly Liberal for the last four elections. They elected just one Conservative between them between 2004 and 2011.


Liberal: Churence Rogers (Incumbent) (Elected)

Conservative: Sharon Vokey

NDP: Matthew Cooper

Green: Kelsey Reichel

Global News is featuring the candidates for all parties running candidates in the upcoming 2019 general election. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Canada.

Sponsored content