Trudeau sets May date for federal byelection in Nanaimo-Ladysmith

Click to play video: 'Nanaimo-Ladysmith federal byelection is called for May' Nanaimo-Ladysmith federal byelection is called for May
WATCH: Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has called another federal byelection for B.C. Keith Baldrey has more on what is expected to be a tight race and the Prime Minister's campaigning in B.C. this week – Mar 24, 2019

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau called a federal byelection for the riding of Nanaimo-Ladysmith Sunday, choosing May 6 as the date voters will cast ballots for their next MP.

The B.C. riding was vacated in January by NDP MP Sheila Malcolmson, who left her seat in Parliament to run in the provincial byelection in Nanaimo, which she ended up winning.

READ MORE: NDP retains grip on power as Sheila Malcolmson wins Nanaimo byelection

Michelle Corfield, who currently serves as chair of the Nanaimo Port Authority, has already been named as the Liberal candidate for the federal byelection.

Bob Chamberlin, vice-president of the Union of BC Indian Chiefs who has also served as chief counsellor of the Kwikwasut’inuxw Haxwa’mis First Nation on Gilford Island since 2005, announced last week he intends to seek the NDP nomination for the riding.

Story continues below advertisement

The Conservatives, meanwhile, have named businessman John Hirst as their candidate, while Paul Manly has secured the nomination for the Green Party. Jennifer Clarke will run for the People’s Party of Canada.

WATCH: (Aired Feb. 26) Jagmeet Singh wins federal byelection in Burnaby South

Click to play video: 'Jagmeet Singh one on one interview with Global News following byelection win' Jagmeet Singh one on one interview with Global News following byelection win
Jagmeet Singh one on one interview with Global News following byelection win – Feb 26, 2019

The byelection is the fourth race Trudeau has had to call this year ahead of October’s federal election.

In January, the prime minister called byelections for three ridings, including Burnaby South, where NDP leader Jagmeet Singh ultimately won his seat in Parliament more than a year after nabbing the party’s leadership.

READ MORE: Jagmeet Singh wins Burnaby South byelection, Liberals take Outremont, Tories hold York-Simcoe

That seat was vacated in October 2018 after NDP MP Kennedy Stewart successfully sought the mayor’s chair in Vancouver.

Story continues below advertisement

The other two byelections — in Outremont, Que., and York–Simcoe, Ont. — saw the Liberals win the Quebec seat back from the NDP, but the party was unable to oust the Conservatives from the Ontario riding.

Sponsored content