8 people from Waterloo region to receive Canada 150+ Commemorative Medal

A Canada 150 medal. Senate of Canada

Eight people from Waterloo Region have been chosen to receive the Senate of Canada 150+ Commemorative Medal.

Joy Huggins, Marietta Gassewitz, Dianne Crossley, Isabel Cisterna, David Marskell, Richard Chambers, Fran Pappert-Shannon and Kimberly Fowler will receive their medals at a ceremony in Ottawa on Wednesday morning.

WATCH BELOW: 150 inspiring Canadian women for Canada 150

Click to play video: '150 inspiring Canadian women for Canada 150' 150 inspiring Canadian women for Canada 150
150 inspiring Canadian women for Canada 150 – Nov 29, 2017

The medals are awarded “to unsung heroes, which are Canadians or permanent residents who have actively committed their time with generosity, dedication, volunteerism and hard work to make their hometowns, communities, regions or province a better place to live.”

Story continues below advertisement

The honourees’ names were submitted to the Senate by Sen. Marty Deacon.

The local senator met the seven mayors of Waterloo region in April before a list of applicants was submitted for the special honour.

“It has been an honour to learn more about the diverse accomplishments of so many in Waterloo Region,” Deacon said in a statement. “It is a fantastic region to serve as Senator. I am thrilled to host these recipients in the Senate Chamber next week. There will be a celebration in Waterloo in the near future.”

The honourees:

  • Joy Huggins, Wildlife Haven Waterloo
  • Marietta Gassewitz, chair of Neighborhood Watch, Waterloo
  • Dianne Crossley, itinerant child and youth worker, Waterloo Region District School Board
  • Isabel Cisterna, Neruda Arts, Waterloo Region
  • David Marskell, THEMUSEUM, Kitchener
  • Richard Chambers, volunteer with city of Waterloo
  • Fran Pappert-Shannon, Coalition of Muslim Women of Kitchener
  • Kimberly Fowler, Fiddlesticks Community Centre, Cambridge

Sponsored content