Whitby election results 2018

Incumbent Mayor Don Mitchell took a comfortable lead early on, according to unofficial election results, and clinched the mayoralty. Former Whitby Coun. Joe Drumm hung up his political hat this year after 41 years in municipal politics, serving 11 on Whitby’s city council and 30 in a regional seat. So for the first time in three decades, Whitby’s regional council will be without Drumm, and it looks like Elizabeth Roy will be taking his place.



Andrea Kennedy
Don Mitchell (incumbent)


Regional Councillor for all wards

Chudi Asidianya
John Dolstra
Derrick Gleed (incumbent)
Terry Johnston
Chris Leahy
Rhonda Mulcahy
Elizabeth Roy (incumbent)
Rod Thwaites
Christine Winters
Steve Yamada

Story continues below advertisement

Regional Chair – Regional Municipality of Durham

Tom Dingwall
John Henry
Hohn Mutton
Peter Neal
Muhammad Ahsin Sahi

Town Councillor – North Ward 1

Steve Lee
Sharmila Saigaonkar
Bill Windrem

Town Councillor – West Ward 2

Matt Cardwell
Meredith Dodge
Deidre Newman
Tracy Roulston
Kimberly Zeppieri

Town Councillor – Centre Ward 3

JoAnne Alexander
Bob Baker
Michael G. Emm (incumbent)
Dave Sansom

Town Councillor – East Ward 4

Carleen Blissett
Paul Johnston
Chris Jones
Liam Nichols
Sharon Peters
Maleeha Shahid

Sponsored content