October 1, 2018 2:42 am
Updated: October 1, 2018 9:17 pm

Quebec election: Vaudreuil results


Liberal Marie-Claude Nichols has won the riding of Vaudreuil.

The riding of Vaudreuil is located west of Montreal. It comprises of l’Île-Cadieux, l’Île-Perrot, Notre-Dame-de-l’Île-Perrot, Pincourt, Terrasse-Vaudreuil, Vaudreuil-Dorion and Vaudreuil-sur-le-Lac.

The four candidates from parties serving in the National Assembly at dissolution:

Coalition Avenir Québec: Claude Bourbonnais
Parti Québécois: Philip Lapalme

Story continues below
Quebec Liberal Party: Marie-Claude Nichols
Québec Solidaire: Igor Erchov

The incumbent heading into the 2018 election was Liberal MNA Marie-Claude Nichols.

Nichols is a lawyer by training, focusing on family law.

She made the leap to politics in 2009 when she became mayor of Notre-Dame-de-l’Île-Perrot.

She was elected as MNA of Vaudreuil in the 2014 election.


The riding of Vaudreuil was created in 1829.

Ten years later, it merged with the riding of Soulanges and was renamed Vaudreuil-Soulanges.

It remained so until 1988, when it reverted back to Vaudreuil.

Vaudreuil is a Liberal stronghold, voting red since 1988.

It was represented by Liberal Daniel Johnson Jr., who went on to become premier of Quebec in 1994.

© 2018 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.