Quebec election: Liberal Sébastien Proulx re-elected in Jean-Talon

Liberal Sébastien Proulx has been re-elected in Jean-Talon.


The riding of Jean-Talon is in Quebec’s Capitale-Nationale region and includes the Quebec City borough of Sainte-Foy-Sillery-Cap-Rouge.

The four candidates from parties serving in the National Assembly at dissolution:

Coalition Avenir Québec: Joëlle Boutin
Parti Québécois: Sylvain Barrette
Quebec Liberal Party: Sébastien Proulx
Québec Solidaire: Patrick Provost

The incumbent heading into the 2018 election was Liberal MNA Sébastien Proulx. He was elected in a provincial byelection in 2015, in a seat left vacant by fellow party member Yves Bolduc.

Proulx was Minister of Education, Recreation and Sports as well as the minister responsible for the Capitale-Nationale region.


The electoral division of Jean-Talon, named after the first intendant of New France in the 1660s, was created in 1965.

Story continues below advertisement

The first election was held in 1966 and was won by Liberal candidate Henri Beaupré. Liberals have held on to Jean-Talon ever since.

Sponsored content