New Brunswick election: Moncton Southwest

Riding background

The 2013 redistricting process saw the creation of the new riding Moncton Southwest. It incorporated portions of several former ridings including Moncton Crescent, Moncton North and Petitcodiac.


Liberal: Susy Campos

Progressive Conservative: Sherry Wilson (incumbent)

NDP: Hailey Duffy

Green: Sarah Jane Colwell



Sherry Wilson, the PC incumbent for Petitcodiac, re-offered in 2014 and ran in the newly created district.

Wilson won a close race over Liberal candidate Tyson Milner, taking 38.8 per cent of the vote while Milner earned 35 per cent.

Story continues below advertisement


Moncton Crescent, Moncton North and Petitcodiac all voted PC in 2010.

Sherry Wilson was elected in the Petitcodiac riding, defeating former PC cabinet minister Wally Stiles who had crossed the floor to the Liberals and joined their cabinet.

Tory incumbent John Betts retained his seat in the Moncton Crescent riding.

PC candidate Marie-Claude Blais defeated Liberal incumbent Mike Murphy.