B.C. municipal election 2018: Taylor results

Incumbent Rob Fraser has been re-elected as mayor of the District of Taylor.

Fraser won 308 votes, easily defeating challenger Laura Prosko.

Three incumbents will also be returning to council: Brent Taillefer, Betty Ponto and Dave Luenberg. They will be joined by newcomer Michelle Turnbull.



Rob Fraser (incumbent)

Laura Prosko


Sherry Davies

Dave Lueneberg (incumbent)

Betty Ponto (incumbent)

Brent Taillefer (incumbent)

Story continues below advertisement

Michelle Turnbull


Taylor is located along the Peace River, about 20 kilometres south of Fort St. John.

Population (2016)



Taylor was once known as Taylor Flats.

It was the place where Donald Herbert Taylor moved to the Peace River Crossing and built a homestead after moving from Manitoba in 1896.

He married Charlotte, a Cree woman, and he carved paddles and played the fiddle at dances.

In 1912, Taylor, Charlotte and their kids settled in Taylor Flats after spending a time in Hudson’s Hope.

Taylor operated a crossing on the Peace River that serviced homesteaders, traders and prospectors as they headed north.

He and a man named Bob Barker would argue over the area’s name; the latter would raise a sign calling it “Barker Flats,” the former a sign that said “Taylor Flats.”

Finally, Barker left, and Taylor’s name remained.

The area would come to be known as Taylor with the establishment of a post office in 1923.

Story continues below advertisement

Taylor would operate his crossing until 1935.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Bob Zimmer (Conservative)


Dan Davies (BC Liberal)