B.C. municipal election 2018: North Saanich results

Geoff Orr has been elected mayor of North Saanich. He won with 2,592 votes, beating out Dorothy Hartshorne, who earned 1,415 votes, according to CivicInfo BC.

Incumbent councillors Heather Gartshore, Jack McClintock, Celia Stock and Murray Weisenberger were acclaimed along with newcomers Brett Smyth and Joscelyn Barnard.

Below is the full list of mayoral and councillor candidates for North Saanich.



Dorothy Hartshorne

Geoff Orr


Joscelyn Barnard

Heather Gartshore (incumbent)

Jack McClintock (incumbent)

Story continues below advertisement

Brett Smyth

Celia Stock (incumbent)

Murray Weisenberger (incumbent)


Just south of Sidney is where you’ll find North Saanich, about 23 kilometres north of Victoria.

Population (2016)



North Saanich was incorporated as a district in 1965.

The area, which was first the home of the Salish First Nation, was explored by the Royal Navy in 1859.

North Saanich has a “rich agricultural interior” that’s a protected part of the Agricultural Land Reserve (ALR).

Farming is an important industry for the community; visit and you’ll see plenty of farmland, as well as produce stands.

Median after-tax income of households (2015)/B.C. median


Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

RCMP — municipal/B.C.

22.84 (-22.50)/93.63 (-0.71)

Story continues below advertisement

RCMP — rural

65.61 (-13.35)/93.63 (-0.71)

Violent Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

RCMP — municipal

11.04 (-10.53)/74.86 (-9.81)

RCMP — rural

66.73 (-37.90)/74.86 (-9.81)

Political representation


Elizabeth May (Green)


Adam Olsen (BC Greens)