B.C. municipal election 2018: Kitimat results

Philip Germuth will return as the mayor of Kitimat, according to the district’s website.

Germuth garnered more than 1,900 votes, well ahead of rival David Johnston, who finished with just over 400 votes.

Incumbents Mario Feldhoff, Edwin Empinado, and Rob Goffinet were re-elected to council along with newcomers Lani Gibson, Terry Marleau, and Mark Zielinski.



Philip Germuth (incumbent)

David Johnston


Mario Feldhoff (incumbent)

Jonathan Borgens

Edwin Empinado (incumbent)

Lani Gibson

Story continues below advertisement

Rob Goffinet (incumbent)

Peter King

Vanessa Lopez

Terry Marleau

Mary Murphy (incumbent)

Larry Walker (incumbent)

Mark Zielinski


Kitimat is located along the Kitimat River in B.C.’s north, about 60 kilometres from Terrace.

Population (2016)



The Kitimat Valley as first occupied by the Haisla First Nations, who are estimated to have been there for millennia.

Haisla members largely live in Kitamaat Village, which is located east of the district.

Europeans arrived between the late 1800s and early 1900s.

But Kitimat truly came into its own in the 1960s as proponents looked to build a dam and aluminum smelter.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Story continues below advertisement

Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

RCMP – municipal/B.C.

70.77 (+0.06)/93.63 (-0.71)

Violent Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

RCMP – municipal

78.61 (-10.08)/74.86 (-9.81)

Political representation


Nathan Cullen (NDP)


Ellis Ross (BC Liberal)