B.C. municipal election 2018: Clearwater results

Merlin Blackwell has been elected mayor in the District of Clearwater.

Council will be made up of two incumbents — Barry Banford and Shelley Sim — as well as Lynne Frizzle, Lyle Mackenzie, Lucy Taylor and Bill Haring.



Merlin Blackwell – elected

Jon S. Kreke


Barry Banford (incumbent) – elected

Travis Borneman

Brent Cooper

Will Ellis

Lynne Frizzle – elected

Story continues below advertisement

Dennis Greffard (incumbent)

Bill Haring – elected

Raymond Kollin

Lyle MacKenzie – elected

Keith McNeill

Shelley Sim (incumbent) – elected

Lucy Taylor – elected


The North Thompson River valley is home to Clearwater, which is located along Highway 5, close to Wells Gray Provincial Park and about 124 kilometres north of Kamloops.

Population (2016)



Clearwater is among B.C.’s youngest municipalities, having only been established in 2007.

But long before that, the Simpcw First Nation of the Secwepemc called it home for 10,000 years.

European fur-trappers and prospectors showed up in the area in the 1800s, travelling from Kamloops.

They named a tributary of crystal clear water the “Fourche de l’Eau Claire.” Later, it became known as the Clearwater River.

Story continues below advertisement

Even more settlers arrived with the Cariboo gold rush.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Cathy McLeod (Conservative)


Peter Milobar (BC Liberals)