July 31, 2017 2:46 pm
Updated: August 1, 2017 10:34 am

Peterborough to host major women’s lacrosse championship

Peterborough, Ont. to host Peterborough, Ont. to host s. 2019 Federation of International Lacrosse Women’s Lacrosse World Championship.

Robert Llewellyn / Getty Images

More than a decade after hosting the world women’s under 19 field lacrosse championship, Peterborough, Ont. is set to host an even bigger version of the same event.

The city announced Monday morning at city hall it will host the 2019 Federation of International Lacrosse Women’s Lacrosse World Championship.

READ MORE: Celebrating 150 years of lacrosse

Story continues below

The event will be co-chaired by long-time lacrosse organizer and coach Fred Blowes and world-level official Cheryl MacNeill. Both were involved in the 2007 event and have recruited several key volunteers to return with them.

“I was watching the 2015 world championship and asked who was hosting the 2019 event,” said Blowes, who has coached several Peterborough athletes who have advanced to U.S. colleges and Team Canada. “What we did last time was kind of magical. People really came together to support Canada and we’re now a more dominant force in the world in women’s lacrosse.”

In 2007, the Peterborough committee hosted 11 international teams at Trent University, drawing record crowds. The 2019 event is expected to draw 20 teams as games are played at Trent and Fleming College.

“Hosting the Women’s Lacrosse World Championship is an exceptional opportunity for our community to showcase its remarkable spirit and offerings as a region to an international audience,” Peterborough Mayor Daryl Bennett said.

“I know the residents of Peterborough will once again show up to cheer on these elite athletes from around the world,” Bennett added. “Peterborough is able to host this premier event because of the inspiring level of talent and volunteerism that we have in our community.”

The games open on Aug. 1, 2019, with the finals taking place at Trent University on Aug. 10.

The list of participating teams will be announced next year.

© 2017 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.