Advertisement

How Globalnews.ca is covering the 2016 U.S. presidential election

A combination photo shows U.S. Republican presidential nominee Donald Trump at a campaign event in Charlotte, North Carolina, U.S. on October 26, 2016 and U.S. Democratic presidential candidate Hillary Clinton during a campaign rally in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, U.S. on October 27, 2016. Reuters/Carlo Allegri/Carlos Barria

The 2016 U.S. Presidential election comes to an end on Tuesday, Nov. 8 as millions of Americans cast their ballot and elect either Donald Trump or Hillary Clinton.

Global News will have extensive live coverage on multiple platforms — radio, TV, online, and social media — in order to bring you the latest developments from the campaign’s denouement.

On Election Night: Globalnews.ca at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PST)

Senior National Affairs Correspondent Eric Sorensen will host a live web cast streamed on Globalnews.ca, YouTube and Facebook, where alongside Tasha Kheiriddin, Marvin Ryder, and Melissa Haussman in studio, and Globalnews.ca reporter Nicole Bogart in the newsroom, he will bring you the unfolding narrative of the historic election.

Global News’ Chief Political Correspondent and host of The West Block Tom Clark will also join Sorensen from Washington, while Global National reporters Jackson Proskow and Vassy Kapelos will have live updates from Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump’s headquarters, respectively.

Story continues below advertisement

On Election Night: Where can I see the US election results?

When the first polls close at 6 p.m. ET on election night, Global News’ readers will have access to an interactive map with detailed state-by-state results as each one of the 538 Electoral College votes are tallied in the race for 270 and the presidency.

WATCH: How exactly do Americans elect their president? As U.S. citizens prepare to vote on Nov. 8, Global’s Monique Scotti breaks down the U.S. electoral college.

Click to play video: 'How exactly do Americans elect their president?' How exactly do Americans elect their president?
How exactly do Americans elect their president? – Oct 17, 2016

The Globalnews.ca team of journalists will have also have extensive contextual coverage of the results in stories that explain what’s happening and why that matters to you as Canadians and to readers around the world.

A live blog on Globalnews.ca will provide up-to-the-minute coverage of which states are leaning toward Hillary Clinton and which might be going to Donald Trump.

Story continues below advertisement

Our social media team will also be bringing our stories to you on our various social media channels across Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

The West Block and Global National will also be live from Washington, D.C., beginning on Sunday at 11 a.m. ET and 6:30 p.m. ET, respectively. Global News’ Chief Political Correspondent and host of The West Block Tom Clark will provide contextual analysis in the closing hours of the election, and the latest poll numbers while host of Global National, Dawna Friesen, will have live updates throughout election night on the Global TV network.

On Election Night: Extensive radio coverage

Corus Radio talk stations across Canada will produce an extensive election special with popular host Charles Adler (exact timing below).

Vancouver (7-10 p.m. PT) on CKNW AM 980

Calgary (6-11 p.m. MT) on News Talk 770

Edmonton (9-11 p.m. MT) on 630 CHED

Winnipeg (7 p.m.-12 a.m. CT) on 680 CJOB

Ontario (8 p.m.-1 a.m. ET) on AM 640, AM 980, and AM 900 CHML

Sponsored content