Saskatchewan election results 2016: Sask. Party wins Moose Jaw Wakamow riding

Greg Lawrence of the Sask. Party has won the Moose Jaw Wakamow riding with 3,459 votes beating out the NDP’s Karen Purdy who got 2,785 votes.

Summary: Moose Jaw Wakamow is an urban riding surrounding the southern part of the city of Moose Jaw. Saskatchewan Party MLA Greg Lawrence seeks re-election in Moose Jaw Wakamow.

Boundaries: The boundary surrounds part of Moose Jaw and stretches from 32nd Avenue W in the west then Trans Canada Highway 1 and Caribou Street East over to the east. It goes northwest from Trans-Canada Highway North then narrows south on Highway 2 and 9th Avenue SW. 17.5 per cent of this redefined riding used to be part of Moose Jaw North. Another 8.7 per cent came from Thunder Creek.

Last Election: Saskatchewan Party candidate Greg Lawrence defeated incumbent Deb Higgins by 201 votes, 49 per cent to 45 per cent.  

History: Historically, the constituency has had a NDP MLA the majority of the time. Deb Higgins was the NDP MLA from 1999 to 2011 then NDP’s Lorne Calvert served from 1986 to 1999. Before than, there was a Progressive Conservative MLA, Arthur Smith, from 1982-1986.  The riding was created after the 1967 election when the provincial government retired multiple-MLA electoral divisions in Regina, Saskatoon and Moose Jaw.


Saskatchewan PartySaskatchewan Party incumbent. Greg Lawrence Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Social Services for Foster and Child Care and as Chair of the Human Services Caucus Policy Committee.

NDP: Karen Purdy, nurse at the Moose Jaw Union Hospital and unit chair for Service Employees’ International Union (SEIU).

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal: Terry Gabel, chairman of the Municipal Planning Commission, Board of Revision and the Moose Jaw Public Library Board.

Green: Shaun Drake