January 22, 2016 10:30 pm
Updated: January 22, 2016 11:45 pm

Jonathan Toews tops ballots for the third straight year

Chicago Blackhawks’ Jonathan Toews hoists the Stanley Cup after defeating the Tampa Bay Lightning in Game 6 of the NHL hockey Stanley Cup Final series on Wednesday, June 10, 2015, in Chicago.

AP Photo/Nam Y. Huh

WINNIPEG — Jonathan Toews is Manitoba’s Male Athlete of the Year for a third straight year and fifth time overall.

Toews selected this years winner at the Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association’s 60th anniversary awards dinner at the Delta Winnipeg Hotel. Chantal Van Landeghem was the Female Athlete of the Year and the Portage Terriers were chosen the Team of the Year.

Story continues below

Toews, 27, received 22 of a possible 34 first place votes. He captained the Chicago Blackhawks to his third Stanley Cup championship. He was also Manitoba’s Male Athlete of the year in 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2014.

Manitoba Bisons defensive lineman David Onyemata was the runner-up with eight first place votes. Other finalists for the Nott Autocorp Award were the Brandon Wheat Kings Nolan Patrick, archery’s Jay Lyon, and golfer Devon Schade.

Van Landeghem, 21, won her second Manitoba Female Athlete of the Year Award. She was a double gold medalist at the Pan American Games in swimming. She also won the award in 2011 and was a run away winner this year with 24 first place votes. Manitoba Bisons volleyball player Rachel Cockrell was second. Soccer player Desiree Scott, cyclist Leah Kirchmann, and Bison hockey rookie Alanna Sharman were also nominated.

The RBC Cup champion Portage Terriers just edged the Braden Calvert curling rink for the top team honours. The Terriers had 19 first place votes to 13 for Calvert. Other finalists were the Brandon Wheat Kings, the Manitoba Canada Games Ringette gold medalists and the WinMan Wesmen 18 and under boys national volleyball champions.

© 2016 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.