Two more Alberta counties declare states of agricultural disaster

A dry farmer's field in Leduc County Tuesday, July 21, 2015. Kendra Slugoski, Global News

EDMONTON — Two more counties in Alberta have declared states of agriculture disaster due to heat and drought.

Wetaskiwin County and Lamont County made the designation Wednesday.

Hay producers in the area are getting less of a hay crop and it has led to a shortage throughout the county and the province.

READ MORE: ‘What do I do with my cattle?’: Alberta farmers struggle with near drought

The county, and several others in Alberta, has also noticed a bigger than usual grasshopper population and producers are considering selling off livestock because they aren’t making enough money.

Several other counties have already declared states of agricultural disaster and are seeking government help for ruined crops.

Agriculture Minister Oneil Carlier is scheduled to give an update Thursday on growing conditions in the province as well as government programs to assist producers.

Story continues below advertisement

With files from 630 CHED.