Federal Election 2015: Surrey Centre riding results

Summary: The de facto “downtown” riding of fast-growing Surrey’s five electoral districts, Surrey Centre is considered a riding to watch in this year’s election.

Boundaries: Generally speaking, this riding comprises all of Surrey north of 88th Avenue and west of 148th Street.

Last Election: NDP candidate Jasbir Sandhu defeated Conservative MP Dona Cadman by four per cent to take this riding, back when it was called Surrey North.

History: The riding was held by Chuck Cadman, who was elected as a Reform, Canadian Alliance, and independent candidate in the 1997, 2000, and 2004 elections. Since then, the riding has alternated between the NDP and the Conservatives.

Demographics: Full of young families, just 10.2 per cent of people in this riding were seniors in the 2011 census, the second lowest number in British Columbia. There are an average of 1.2 children per household, the third highest number in the province. And 32.8 per cent identified as South Asian in 2011, the second highest number in British Columbia.


Conservative: Sucha Thind, small businessman

NDP: Jasbir Sandhu, MP since 2011

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal: Randeep Singh Sarai, lawyer

Green: TBA

Christian Heritage: Kevin Pielak

Communist: Iqbal Kahlon