September 7, 2015 8:52 pm
Updated: August 5, 2016 8:01 pm

Federal Election 2015: Central Okanagan-Similkameen-Nicola riding results


Summary: A riding spanning several different regions of B.C., Central Okanagan-Similkameen-Nicola has been heavily redrawn from 2011.

Boundaries: Previously known as Okanagan—Coquihalla, Central Okanagan-Similkameen-Nicola includes Merritt and the Okanagan towns of Summerland, Peachland, West Kelowna, and the Mission neighbourhood of Kelowna.

Prior to last election, it also included the large Okanagan city of Penticton, but now includes the smaller Similkameen towns of Princeton, Hedley and Keremeos.

Story continues below

Last Election: Conservative Dan Albas was elected by a margin of 29.4 per cent over the NDP in 2011, succeeding longtime Conservative MP Stockwell Day. Despite the large amount of redistribution in this riding, had the new boundaries existed in the last election, the Conservatives would have taken it by a margin of just 1 per cent less.

History: With the exception 1988, when Jack Whittaker was elected for the NDP, the area has voted for right-wing candidates for decades, usually by large amounts. Provincially, the Okanagan regions elect right-wing MLAs, while the Similkameen-Nicola areas are commonly thought of as swing areas.

Demographics: Just under 24 per cent of people are seniors, the sixth highest number in B.C. The median age is 48.5, fourth highest in the province.


Conservative: Dan Albas, MP since 2011

NDP: Angelique Wood, a Similkameen resident and former director for the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen

Liberal: Karley Scott, Board President for the Métis Community Services Society of BC and associate at a Kelowna law firm

Green: Robert Mellalieu, an IT professional and former Duncan alderman

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error


Comments closed.

Due to the sensitive and/or legal subject matter of some of the content on, we reserve the ability to disable comments from time to time.

Please see our Commenting Policy for more.