June 1, 2015 1:22 pm

Alberta’s official Opposition names its shadow cabinet

Newly elected Wildrose Leader Brian Jean speaks after winning the party leadership vote in Calgary, Alta., Sat., March 28, 2015.


EDMONTON — Alberta’s official Opposition Wildrose Party revealed the MLAs who will make up its shadow cabinet Monday.

Leader Brian Jean will serve as International and Intergovernmental Relations critic.

Former Alberta director of The Canadian Taxpayers’ Federation Derek Fildebrandt was named critic of Finance and Treasury Board.

Drew Barnes, MLA for Cypress-Medicine Hat, will focus on the health portfolio while Leela Aheer, MLA for Chestermere-Rocky View, will be in charge of the Energy file.

Global News
Help us improve Globalnews.ca
Story continues below

Mark Smith, MLA for Drayton Valley-Devon, will be the education critic.

Rick Strankman, MLA for Drumheller-Stettler, will be critic of Agriculture, Forestry and Rural Development.

A full list of the Wildrose shadow cabinet is posted below.

READ MORE: Who’s in Rachel Notley’s cabinet? 

“On May 5, Albertans elected an incredibly strong team of Wildrose MLAs from every corner of the province,” said Jean. “We are ready to stand up for all Albertans over the next four years. Our team will advocate for more efficient government that focuses on people served, not dollars spent. It’s time to get to work.”

The announcement came on the same day the new MLAs were being sworn in at the Legislature.  A total of 85 members were being sworn in. Two seats still remain vacant: Calgary-Glenmore and Calgary-Foothills. The first riding is having a judicial recount and the second was former premier Jim Prentice’s riding.

There are currently 52 NDP MLAs, 21 Wildrose MLAs, nine PC MLAs, one Liberal, one Alberta Party and one Independent.

Wildrose Shadow Minister Roster

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.