Shock, disbelief, joy and dismay: social media reaction to Alberta election

WATCH ABOVE: Danielle Smith reacts to the 2015 Alberta election

EDMONTON — Rachel Notley’s orange crush of the Alberta Progressive Conservatives garnered its share of colourful social media reaction Tuesday night.

READ MORE: Orange crush: NDP stomps out 44-year PC dynasty, Jim Prentice resigns

One of the most interesting comments on the NDP majority win was from former Wildrose leader Danielle Smith.

Smith also congratulated Notley on her “once in a lifetime political achievement” and said the NDP leader ran a great campaign.

Story continues below advertisement

Smith will be a guest on the Global Morning News on Wednesday.

Alberta’s new premier was also congratulated by federal NDP leader Thomas Mulcair.

During her acceptance speech, Notley made a remark about not having “done the math” before commenting on the high number of women elected.

WATCH: After leading the NDP into a historic majority government in Alberta, party leader Rachel Notley said that “change has finally come to Alberta.”

The remark, which seemed to be an unintentional quip at Jim Prentice’s “math is difficult” comment, sparked laughs and cheers from the crowd at NDP headquarters. It was also well-received on social media.

Story continues below advertisement

READ MORE: Analysis shows Prentice took a beating on Twitter over #Mathishard

As of late Tuesday night, 27 female candidates were either leading or elected, making up about 31 per cent of the Alberta caucus.

Story continues below advertisement

WATCH: The Alberta election in five minutes

While many people heralded the orange crush, others expressed surprise, while others voiced concern.

Live Alberta election results 2015: Real-time results in the provincial election

Story continues below advertisement

Meanwhile, others referenced the late federal NDP leader Jack Layton.

Online discussion about the Alberta election peaked at about 8:40 p.m. Tuesday. Within a one-hour period, there were about 25,000 tweets on the subject.

Story continues below advertisement

Another huge peak could be seen during Jim Prentice’s resignation speech.

Story continues below advertisement

05-05-vote   A few long-time MLAs and well-known politicians lost their seats, including Liberal Laurie Blakeman, PC MLA Thomas Lukaszuk, and ministers Stephen Mandel, Gordon Dirks, Heather Klimchuck and Jonathan Denis.


Story continues below advertisement



Story continues below advertisement
Global News Redesign Global News Redesign
A fresh new look for Global News is here, tell us what you think
Take a Survey

Sponsored Stories