Alberta Election 2015: NDP’s Brian Malkinson wins Calgary-Currie

The NDP’s Brian Malkinson has taken the riding of Calgary-Currie.

Malkinson had won 42 per cent of the vote in early results, well ahead of PC incumbent Christine Cusanelli, who had 23 per cent.

Calgary-Currie, a west-side, inner-city riding, includes communities such as Sunalta and Westgate. It has largely elected PCs since 1971, with the exception of two Liberal wins, in 2004 and 2008.

The PC’s Cusanelli won in 2012 with 45 per cent of the vote. She had also served as the minister for Tourism, Parks and Recreation.

The riding is named after Currie Barracks on the west side of Crowchild Trail.


  • Alberta Party: Tony Norman
  • Green Party of Alberta: Nelson Berlin
  • Liberal: Shelley Wark-Martyn
  • NDP: Brian Malkinson
  • Progressive Conservative: Christine Cusanelli
  • Wildrose: Terry DeVries

Click here for full provincial election results.

Story continues below advertisement