Alberta byelections: Who won

WATCH ABOVE: It was anyone’s guess which party would take which seat, going into Monday’s byelections.  The big question:  were Albertans poised to send the Progressive Conservative’s a message, amid all the past scandal? As Eric Szeto explains, it appears voters  have given the party another chance.

EDMONTON – The Alberta Tories have swept all four byelections.

Premier Jim Prentice won a seat in the legislature. The 58-year-old former MP and Conservative cabinet minister under Prime Minister Stephen Harper handily defeated Wildrose candidate Kathy Macdonald in Calgary-Foothills.

Story continues below advertisement

READ MORE: Premier Prentice wins seat in Calgary-Foothills

Health Minister Stephen Mandel outlasted NDP candidate Bob Turner and Tim Grover of the Opposition Wildrose party in Edmonton-Whitemud.

READ MORE: PC candidate Stephen Mandel wins seat in Edmonton-Whitemud

In Calgary-Elbow, Education Minister Gordon Dirks edged out rivals John Fletcher of the Wildrose party and Greg Clark, leader of the Alberta Party.

READ MORE: Gordon Dirks wins for PCs in Calgary-Elbow

In Calgary-West, PC candidate Mike Ellis, a Calgary police sergeant held on to defeat Wildrose candidate Sheila Taylor in the tightest race of the night.

READ MORE: PC candidate Mike Ellis wins Calgary-West byelection

WATCH: Provincial Affairs reporter Tom Vernon on Monday night’s wins.

Prentice called the byelections a month ago after winning the party’s leadership race to replace former premier Alison Redford.

Story continues below advertisement

All four ridings have been traditional Tory strongholds.

The Tories hold 61 seats in the 87-seat legislature when the byelections were called. The Wildrose have 17, the Liberals five and the NDP four.

A general election is mandated by law to be held in the spring of 2016.

Premier Prentice and Wildrose leader Smith will both appear on Global Calgary and Global Edmonton’s Morning News on Tuesday.

Sponsored content