July 25, 2014 3:12 pm
Updated: July 25, 2014 3:16 pm

Regulatory body to oversee Sask. teachers certification, discipline

Education Minister Don Morgan names transition committee to develop new regulatory body to handle teacher certification and discipline in Saskatchewan.

File / Global News

REGINA – An eight person transition committee has been established to develop a new regulatory body to handle teacher certification and discipline.

When established, the body will regulate who will be a member of the profession and oversee disciplinary functions for misconduct or incompetence.

The committee was named after discussions between parties involved in the Saskatchewan education system and the signing of a memorandum between the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation (STF) and the government.

Story continues below

Education Minister Don Morgan said it will enhance the integrity of teaches and increase transparency.

“The current process for regulating teachers in Saskatchewan is particularly complex, and work needs to be done to increase transparency of the process,” said Morgan.

“This new regulatory body will enhance the integrity of the teaching profession in our province, and it puts students’ safety at the forefront.”

The committee is tasked with consulting and meeting with stakeholders including teachers, students and parents as it develops bylaws and structure for the new body.

It is expected the new regulatory body will be operational by the fall of 2015.

Committee members:

  • Clint Repski, Ministry of Education
  • Gwen Dueck and Fay Elke, STF
  • Kyle McIntyre, League of Educational Administrators, Directors and Superintendents
  • Elizabeth Perreault, Saskatchewan School Boards Association
  • Keith Frame, First Nations Directors of Education
  • Gerry Hurton, Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations
  • Derwyn Crozier-Smith, member of the public
Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.