June 12, 2014 11:12 pm

Municipal Affairs minister Bill Mauro keeps Thunder Bay-Atikokan

Liberal candidate Bill Mauro


Bill Mauro has kept the riding of Thunder Bay-Atikokan Liberal, fending off a challenge from the NDP.

Mauro took a commanding 52.9 per cent of the vote in early results. The NDP’s Mary Kozorys won 28.1 per cent, and PC candidate Harold Wilson won 13.2 per cent, with all but three polls left to report results.

Mauro, who was minister of municipal affairs and housing at dissolution, has been an MPP since 2003. He held the portfolio for just over a month before the election was called. He’s a former city councillor in Thunder Bay.

Kozorys, who ran a close race against Mauro in 2011, was constituency assistant for local NDP MP John Rafferty. She is also president of the Lakehead Social Planning Council, a community services organization.

Full results from the 2014 Ontario provincial election

More information about this riding

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News