May 27, 2014 4:22 am
Updated: June 11, 2014 2:20 pm

Ontario election 2014: Ottawa Centre riding


View link »

On June 12, voters head to the polls in the 2014 Ontario election. Learn more about the candidates and political history of the riding of Ottawa Centre.


Liberals: Yasir Naqvi*
Progressive Conservatives: Rob Dekker
NDP: Jennifer McKenzie
Green:  Kevin O’Donnell


Screen shot 2014-05-09 at 4.30.32 AM

Story continues below
The “downtown Ottawa” riding, Ottawa Centre is bordered by the Ottawa River in the north from the Alexandra Bridge in the east to Sherbourne Road in the west, and narrows until it ends just before Nepean Creek.


The riding was created in 1966 and has elected Liberal candidates since 1995. Yasir Naqvi was elected to his second term in 2011, defeating the NDP candidate by nearly 9,000 votes.

View link »

By the numbers

A riding with many university students and young bureaucrats, Ottawa Centre has the lowest marriage rate (35.3 per cent for people over 15) and average household size (2.0) for any urban riding outside the GTA.

View link »

Riding in a tweet

The riding for Parliament Hill will likely return the popular Yasi Naqvi to office for a third straight time.

Poll-level results, 2011: Ottawa Centre »

Poll-level results, 2011: Ottawa Centre

© 2014 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News