May 27, 2014 9:23 pm
Updated: June 11, 2014 5:16 pm

Ontario election 2014: Dufferin-Caledon riding


View link »

On June 12, voters head to the polls in the 2014 Ontario election. Learn more about the candidates and political history of the riding of Dufferin-Caledon.


Liberals: Bobbie Daid
Progressive Conservatives: Sylvia Jones*
NDP: Rehya Rebecca Yazbek
Green:  Karren Wallace


Screen shot 2014-05-09 at 4.19.22 AM A rural riding on the edge of the GTA, Dufferin-Caledon consists of Dufferin county and Caledon. The largest population centres are Bolton and Orangeville, each with around 30,000 people.

Story continues below


The area has been represented by the Progressive Conservatives under a wide variety of riding names since 1990. Current Conservative MP David Tilson held the area from 1990 to 2002, when he made way for new leader Ernie Eves to take the seat in a by-election. After Eves lost the subsequent general election, he resigned to make way for new leader John Tory to take the seat in a by-election. Current MPP Sylvia Jones has held the riding since 2007. While the Liberals have done well in Bolton, the Tories have dominated everywhere else.

View link »

By the numbers

While the riding is rural in nature, its proximity to the GTA make it attractive to young families – it has the second lowest median age (38.2) and highest household size (3.0) of all rural ridings in southern Ontario.

View link »

Riding in a tweet

Dufferin-Caledon is a relatively safe bet to stay Tory blue.

Poll-level results, 2011: Dufferin-Caledon »

Poll-level results, 2011: Dufferin-Caledon

© 2014 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News