February 4, 2014 1:46 pm
Updated: February 4, 2014 2:49 pm

Robin Thicke, Michael Bublé among Juno Award nominees


TORONTO — Robin Thicke and Michael Bublé are among the nominees in major categories at the 2014 Juno Awards.

Both artists are up for Pop Album of the Year and Artist of the Year. In the former category they will be challenged by Hedley, Tegan and Sara and Walk Off The Earth while in the latter they will take on Celine Dion, Drake and Serena Ryder.

Story continues below

The nominations were announced Tuesday at a press conference in Toronto. In all, there are 177 nominees, including 80 first-time nominees.

Leading the way is Montreal’s Arcade Fire with six Juno nominations.

Bublé and Ryder have five each while Tegan and Sara, Dion, Drake and Hedley follow with four apiece.

Canadian musicians who released music between Sept. 1, 2012 and Nov. 13, 2013 are eligible. Thicke qualifies for the Junos because he holds Canadian citizenship through his father, actor Alan Thicke.

Bublé, Ryder, Arcade Fire and Tegan and Sara are also up for Single of the Year, against Classified feat. David Myles.

Nominees for Album of the Year are Bublé’s To Be Loved, Ryder’s Harmony, Dion’s Loved Me Back to Life, Arcade Fire’s Reflektor and Drake’s Nothing Was the Same.

Group of the Year nods went to Arcade Fire, Blue Rodeo, Hedley, Tegan and Sara and Walk Off The Earth.

Breakthrough Artist of the Year nominees are Brett Kissel, Florence K, Tim Hicks, Tyler Shaw and Wake Owl. Breakthrough Group nods went to A Tribe Called Red, Autumn Hill, Born Ruffians, Courage My Love and July Talk.

Kissel also earned a nomination for Country Album of the Year against Dean Brody, Gord Bamford, Small Town Pistols and Tim Hicks.

Headstones, Matt Mays, Matthew Good, Monster Truck and Three Days Grace will compete for Rock Album of the Year.

Rap Recording of the Year nominees are Classified, Drake, Rich Kidd, Shad and SonReal while Dance Recording honours go to Armin van Buuren feat. Trevor Guthrie (a B.C. native), deadmau5, DVBBS & Borgeous, Jacynthe and Mia Martina.

Henry Walter, co-writer of hits like “Roar” by Katy Perry, “Timber” by Pitbull feat. Ke$ha and “Wrecking Ball” by Miley Cyrus, earned a nomination for Songwriter of the Year. He’ll be challenged by Arcade Fire, Ryder, Tega and Sara and Ron Sexsmith.

Walter, a Nova Scotia native who left Toronto for Los Angeles, is also nominated for Producer of the Year.

International Album of the Year nominees include Unorthodox Jukebox by Bruno Mars, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 by Eminem, Night Visions by Imagine Dragons, Take me Home by One Direction and The Truth About Love by P!nk.

Fan Choice nominees are Arcade Fire, Bublé, Thicke, Dion, Ryder, Avril Lavigne, Drake, Hedley, Justin Bieber and Walk Off The Earth.

Calgary duo Tegan and Sara and Ontario’s Serena Ryder, Walk Off The Earth and City and Colour were the first performers to be announced. A host will be announced at a later date.

For a complete list of nominees, click here.

Chantal Kreviazuk and Raine Maida will receive the Allan Waters Humanitarian Award, while classic rock outfit Bachman-Turner Overdrive will be inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame.

The 43rd Juno Awards will be handed out in Winnipeg on March 29 and during a live broadcast on March 30.

Tickets go on sale on Feb. 14.

It is the second time the Junos have been staged in Winnipeg.

© 2014 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.