New Brunswick’s Kelly, Alberta’s Skrlik win way into Canadian curling championship

Click to play video: 'Scottish curlers arrive to Peterborough area for Strathona Cup, oldest international curling competition'
Scottish curlers arrive to Peterborough area for Strathona Cup, oldest international curling competition
The oldest international curling competition in the world will see Scottish athletes taking over local rinks starting this weekend. The Strathcona Cup, hosted every five years between Canada and Scotland, kicks off Sunday in Lakefield, and then moves to a territory it's never charted before. Noor Ibrahim caught up with Wayne Medford, organizer and athlete at the Lindsay Curling Club, to tee up the action. – Jan 20, 2023

Alberta’s Kayla Skrlik and New Brunswick’s Andrea Kelly won their respective provincial women’s curling championship finals Sunday to gain entry into the Scotties Tournament of Hearts.

They join Clancy Grandy (B.C.), Kerry Galusha (Northwest Territories), Laurie St-Georges (Quebec), Nunavut’s Brigitte MacPhail (Nunavut), Hailey Birnie (Yukon) and defending champion Kerri Einarson of Gimli., Man., among teams already qualified for the national championship Feb. 17-26 in Kamloops, B.C.

Kelly doubled Abby Burgess 10-5 in Sunday’s final to go unbeaten in Fredericton.

Her team includes third Sylvie Quillian, second Jill Brothers and lead Katie Forward.

Kelly will skip New Brunswick in a Canadian women’s championship for the 11th time in her curling career.

She won the bronze medal last year in Thunder Bay, Ont., for a career-best result.

Story continues below advertisement
Andrea Kelly makes a shot during the morning draw against Quebec at the Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Red Deer, Alberta, Sunday, Feb. 19, 2012. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

Skrlik edged Casey Scheidegger 9-8 in Wetaskiwin to win Alberta.

Down a point coming home with hammer, Skrlik executed a tricky double takeout to score two for the victory.

Skrlik, vice Geri-Lynn Ramsay, second Brittany Tran and lead Ashton Skrlik from the Calgary Curling Club went undefeated in their provincial championship.

The Skrlik sisters will make their Hearts debuts.

Curling Canada continues the 18-team fields for its men’s and women’s national championship in 2023 after two years of the format.

Read more: With high performance review underway, Curling Canada hopes new quad yields results

Read next: This gibbon became pregnant while living in isolation. How is that possible?

Wild-card entries increased from one to three starting in 2021, and are determined by the top three non-qualified teams in Curling Canada’s ranking system (CTRS).

Story continues below advertisement

The Hearts and Tim Hortons Brier wild cards will be named when provincial and territorial reps are determined.

Einarson, Ontario’s Rachel Homan and six-time national champion Jennifer Jones of Manitoba ranked first to third Sunday in the CTRS, but wild cards will come from deeper in the women’s rankings as Einarson already has automatic entry into the Hearts as defending champion.

Homan and Jones will also compete in their respective provincial championships this week.

Jones’ former third Kaitlyn Lawes ranked fourth Sunday in the CTRS followed by Grandy already qualified and Scheidegger in sixth.

Read more: Calgary to host 2024 Scotties Tournament of Hearts

Read next: Tourist booed, punched, hit with stick after climbing sacred Mexican pyramid

Provincial finals in Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Northern Ontario, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador are Jan. 29 and Nova Scotia on Jan. 30.

The Hearts winner will represent Canada at the world championship March 18-26 in Sandviken, Sweden.

The field for the national men’s championship March 3-12 in London, Ont., has partially filled with Jacques Gauthier (B.C.), Felix Asselin (Quebec), Thomas Scoffin (Yukon), Jake Higgs (Nunavut) and defending champion Brad Gushue of St. John’s, N.L.

Ontario, Northern Ontario, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador conclude their men’s provincials Jan. 29 and Nova Scotia on Jan. 30.

Story continues below advertisement

Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Northwest Territories and New Brunswick will hold their men’s provincial and territorial championships in February.

Alberta’s Brendan Bottcher, Manitoba’s Matt Dunstone, Gushue, Alberta’s Kevin Koe and Manitoba’s Reid Carruthers ranked first to fifth respectively Sunday in the men’s CTRS standings.

The Brier champion will wear the Maple Leaf in the world men’s championship April 1-9 in Ottawa.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Jan. 22, 2023.

Sponsored content