Canada election results: Thornhill

Global News is projecting Melissa Lantsman has been elected as the Conservative MP in the riding of Thornhill.

The Thornhill riding consists of most of the Thornhill community, containing parts of the city of Vaughan and the city of Markham in the Greater Toronto Area’s York Region. It is bordered by Steeles Avenue to the south, Bayview Avenue and Bathurst Street to the east, Rutherford Road to the north and Highway 400 to the west.

Conservative incumbent Peter Kent has represented Thornhill since 2008. In 2019, he was re-elected with nearly 55 per cent of the vote, followed by Liberal candidate Gary Gladstone, who garnered 18,946 votes, and the NDP’s Sara Petrucci, who won 3,469 votes. Kent announced in November 2020 that he will not be running for re-election in 2021. Lantsman is now the Conservative candidate for the riding.

Prior to 2008, the riding had voted Liberal since its inception in 1997.

Story continues below advertisement

The Thornhill riding has a population of 112,719 and a land area of 62.9 square kilometres, according to the most recent census.


Liberal Party: Gary Gladstone

Conservative Party: Melissa Lantsman

Green Party: Daniella Mikanovsky

NDP: Raz Razvi

People’s Party of Canada:¬†Samuel Greenfield

Sponsored content