Canada election results: Parry Sound—Muskoka

Global News is projecting Conservative incumbent Scott Aitchison getting re-elected in Parry Sound–Muskoka.

The Parry Sound—Muskoka riding encompasses the districts of Muskoka and Parry Sound, Ont., except for Callander, Powassan and the Township of Nipissing. It borders Simcoe North, Haliburton–Kawartha Lakes–Brock, Nipissing–Timiskaming and Nickel Belt.

Conservative Party incumbent candidate Scott Aitchison won the riding in 2019 with 41.8 per cent of the vote. The Liberal Party’s Trisha Cowie came in second and Gord Miller from the Green Party came in third.

The riding started off voting Liberal when it was first represented in 1949 and then again in 1953.

Since then, the area has mostly voted Conservative, with the party holding the seat between 1957 and 1993. In 1993, the Liberals again gained control of the riding until 2006, when Tony Clement took over for the Conservatives.

Story continues below advertisement


Conservative: Scott Aitchison (incumbent)
Liberal: Jovanie Nicoyishakiye
NDP: Heather Hay
Green Party: Marc Mantha
People’s Party of Canada: James Tole
National Citizens Alliance of Canada: James Fawcett
Independent: Daniel Predie Jr.

Click to play video: 'Canada election: How will Liberals, Conservatives define success'
Canada election: How will Liberals, Conservatives define success

Sponsored content