Paul Wozney re-elected Nova Scotia Teachers Union president

Nova Scotia Teachers Union President Paul Wozney speaks at press conference in Halifax on Thursday, Aug. 27, 2020. Graeme Benjamin/Global News

The Nova Scotia Teachers Union re-elected its president Paul Wozney with 81 per cent of the vote on Tuesday.

Wozney, who taught at the Charles P. Allen High School in Bedford, was first elected in 2018.

“I have worked tirelessly for the past two years to advocate for teachers and students, and to resolve conflicts with Government on major issues,” Wozney said in a release.

One of those major issues is a new contract for union members.

Read more: Nova Scotia Teachers Union reaches tentative deal with the province

NSTU has reached a tentative agreement with the provincial government on a new contract, the organization confirmed on Monday.

NSTU members have been without a contract since the end of the 2019 school year and talks between the two sides have been contentious.

Story continues below advertisement

The union filed a bad-faith bargaining complaint against the provincial government at the start of the year after the province’s proposal to remove teaching specialists from the bargaining, but that complaint was eventually dropped.

As of October, school specialists have since been allowed to be accepted into the NSTU.

Click to play video: 'Tensions grow between teachers’ union, N.S. government' Tensions grow between teachers’ union, N.S. government
Tensions grow between teachers’ union, N.S. government – Sep 3, 2020

Wozney said Tuesday’s results show solidarity in Nova Scotia teachers, and their will to ”take the lead in realizing lasting, positive change in our schools and communities.”

According to the release 5,963, or 62 per cent, NSTU members cast their vote electronically.

He defeated Shelburne County teacher Colleen Scott, for the seat.

Wozney said he is humbled to continue work with the union that represents nearly 10,000 teachers across Nova Scotia.

Story continues below advertisement

His new term officially begins Feb. 21, 2020.

Sponsored content