June 15, 2013 2:10 pm
Updated: June 15, 2013 5:55 pm

Global News Edmonton wins Edward R. Murrow award


EDMONTON – Global News Edmonton has won a 2013 Edward R. Murrow award for Best News Series for the “Code Red” series, produced by Vassy Kapelos, Morris Gamblin, Jason Trout and Craig Jarron.

“Code Red” featured an in-depth look at Alberta’s emergency response system, and included revealing interviews with paramedics coming forward to discuss the state of Alberta Health Services-run ambulance service.

The series also included an in-studio interview with Health Minister Fred Horne during the News Hour.

The stories received enormous response from viewers across the province and lead to AHS examining its overall procedures.

The Edward R. Murrow award is in the international category, which considers submissions from outside the United States.

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has been honouring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism.

Click here to watch the ‘Code Red’ series.

© 2013 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.