2019 Canada election results: Mount Royal

Global News has declared Liberal incumbent Anthony Housefather the winner in the Mount-Royal riding with 57.6 per cent of the vote.

Mount Royal is one of the strongest Liberal ridings in the country. Liberals have never lost the seat since 1940. The best known MP of the riding was late Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau, who represented the riding from 1965 to 1984.

Voters in Mount Royal elected Housefather in 2015 with almost 50 per cent of the vote. Housefather ran against Conservative candidate and councillor for Côte Saint Luc, David Tordjman.

Boundaries: This riding includes the city of Côte-Saint-Luc, the Towns of Mount Royal and Hampstead, the neighbourhood of Snowdon and the Western part of the neighbourhood of Côte-des-Neiges.

History: In the last 75 years, this riding has had just 5 MPs, all Liberal, including Pierre Trudeau from 1965 to 1984. The last time a conservative won here was in 1935.


Liberal: Anthony Housefather (Incumbent)

Bloc Québécois: Xavier Lévesque

Green: Clément Badra

NDP: Eric-Abel Baland

Conservative: David Tordjman

PPC: Zachary Lozoff


Sponsored content