2019 Canada election results: Etobicoke Centre

Global News has declared Liberal Yvan Baker as winner in the riding of Etobicoke Centre.


Liberal: Yvan Baker
Conservatives: Ted Opitz
NDP: Heather Vickers-Wong
Green: Cameron Semple
Nicholas Serdiuk

The riding is part of the City of Toronto and its rough boundaries are Etobicoke Creek, Eglinton Avenue West and Martin Grove Road to the west, Dixon Road to the north, the Humber River and Dundas Street West to the east and Bloor Street West to the south.

Then-incumbent Conservative MP Ted Opitz faced controversy when he was re-elected in the 2011 election. The Ontario Superior Court declared the riding’s results to be null and void due to an issue with certain votes that were counted. Opitz filed an appeal and won, allowing him to retain his seat until he was unseated by Liberal Wrzesnewskyj in the 2015 election. Opitz is the Conservative nominee for the 2019 election.

Story continues below advertisement

The riding lost territory to Etobicoke North but gained territory from Etobicoke-Lakeshore in the 2012 electoral redistribution.

Sponsored content