2019 Canada election results: Brampton East

Liberal candidate Maninder Sidhu has been elected in the riding of Brampton East.

The riding was formerly held by Independent MP Raj Grewel.

Grewal, elected in 2015 under the Liberal Party’s banner, resigned from caucus in the wake of his gambling problem that led him to incur significant debts.

Maninder Sidhu was acclaimed as the Liberal nominee in July for the upcoming election.

Brampton East is an electoral district with a South Asian majority at 65.8 per cent, according to the 2016 census.


Liberals: Maninder Sidhu
Conservatives: Ramona Singh
NDP: Saranjit Singh
Green: Teresa Burgess-Ogilvie
PPC: Gaurav Walia
Canada’s Fourth Front: Partap Dua
Independent: Manpreet Othi


Sponsored content