Alberta election: Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock results

Global News projects UCP Glenn van Diijken win in Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock.

Below is a full list of the candidates in the new riding of Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock, an area north of Edmonton that covers Swan Hills to Smoky Lake.

Quick take

The electoral boundaries were redrawn ahead of the 2019 election, creating the new riding of Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock. Voters in this area have a new slate of candidates, as NDP MLA Colin Piquette decided not to run for re-election.


NDP: Therese Taschuk

United Conservative Party: Glenn van Dijken

Alberta Party: Wayne Rufiange

Alberta Independence Party: Buster Malcolm

Independent: Brad Giroux


This is the first election in which new riding boundaries will be in effect.

Story continues below advertisement

In 2015, Piquette won the Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater riding.

Sponsored content