Alberta election: Cypress-Medicine Hat results

Global News projects UCP Drew Barnes win in Cypress-Medicine Hat.

Below is a full list of the incumbent and candidates in the riding of Cypress-Medicine Hat, an area in southeastern Alberta, along the Saskatchewan border. The riding covers the city of Medicine Hat south of the South Saskatchewan River and the Trans-Canada Highway.

Quick take

Drew Barnes held on to his seat for the Wildrose Party in the 2015 election.

Barnes, now a UCP MLA, is seeking re-election in the southeastern riding.


United Conservative Party: Drew Barnes (Incumbent)

NDP: Peter Mueller

Alberta Party: Colette Smithers

Alberta Advantage Party: Terry Blacquier

Alberta Liberal Party: Anwar Kamaran


The riding voted Conservative from the time it was created in 1993 until the 2012 election when Barnes won an upset victory over PC incumbent Len Mitzel.


Sponsored content