Alberta election: Lethbridge-West results

Global News projects that Shannon Phillips will take the riding of Lethbridge-West for the NDP.

Below is a full list of the incumbent and candidates in the riding of Lethbridge-West, one of two ridings in the southern Alberta city.

Quick take

NDP MLA and Environment and Parks Minister Shannon Phillips currently holds the seat in Lethbridge-West.

Earlier this year, Phillips faced criticism after cancelling four upcoming public information sessions on the Bighorn Country parks plan, which led to the UCP calling for her to be replaced as the minster in charge of the file.


NDP: Shannon Phillips (Incumbent)

United Conservative Party: Karri Flatla

Alberta Party: Zac Rhodenizer

Liberal Party: Patricia Chizek

Alberta Independence Party: Ben Maddison


Phillips was part of the 2015 orange crush, which saw the Alberta NDP stomp out a 44-year Progressive Conservative dynasty in the province.

Story continues below advertisement

Before Phillips took over the seat, it was held by Progressive Conservative MLA Greg Weadick for three terms.

Prior to the 2015 elections, the riding had voted Progressive Conservative since 1975.

Sponsored content