March 17, 2019 8:00 am
Updated: April 16, 2019 10:30 pm

Alberta election: Brooks-Medicine Hat results


Global News projects UCP Michaela Glasgo win in Brooks-Medicine Hat.

Below is a full list of the candidates in the riding of Brooks-Medicine Hat, an area covering a south-east section of the province, spanning as far south as Medicine Hat, east to the provincial border, and as far north as Trefoll.

Quick take

This will be a riding to watch in the 2019 election after NDP incumbent Bob Wanner announced he would not seek re-election.

Story continues below

Wanner was first elected in 2015 after joining the campaign only three weeks before the election. He served as Speaker in the legislature.

In December 2018, Wanner announced he wouldn’t run in the 2019 election.


NDP: Lynn MacWilliam

United Conservative Party: Michaela Glasgo

Alberta Party: Jim Black

Alberta Independence Party: Collin Pacholek

Alberta Liberal Party: Jamah Bashir Farah

Independent: Todd Beasley


Wanner was part of the 2015 orange crush, which saw the Alberta NDP stomp out a 44-year Progressive Conservative dynasty in the province.

The Medicine Hat riding was solidly Progressive Conservative until the 2015 election, dating all the way back to 1979.

The Wildrose took the seat in 2012 with Blake Pedersen, who later crossed the floor to the PC party in December 2014.

© 2019 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.