November 3, 2018 7:06 pm
Updated: November 5, 2018 7:31 am

Bombers and Saskatchewan to square off in West Semifinal

Winnipeg Blue Bombers quarterback Chris Streveler (17) runs the ball as Edmonton Eskimos Calvin McCarty (31) chases during first half CFL action between the Bombers and Eskimos.


The Winnipeg Blue Bombers regular season is complete and the team is now shifting its focus to the postseason following a 33-24 loss to the Edmonton Eskimos on Saturday.

And a familiar rival awaits as the Bombers will meet the Saskatchewan Roughriders (12-6) in the West Semifinal on Sunday, Nov. 11.

Winnipeg had already locked up third place in the CFL’s West Division and sat several starters against Edmonton. They finished the season with a 10-8 record.

Story continues below

Bombers running back Andrew Harris carried the ball just twice for 35 yards, but it was more than enough to move him into the league lead in rushing and clinch his second consecutive league rushing title (1,390 yards).

READ MORE: Bombers sitting starters for season finale

Chris Streveler started for the Bombers at quarterback and went 9/15 for 190 yards and a touchdown and also carried the ball 10 times for 76 yards, including a 27-yard TD on the ground.

Receiver Corey Washington caught an 80-yard TD pass for the Bombers while RB Johnny Augustine carried the ball seven times for 51 yards and also found the end zone.

Receiver Ryan Lankford filled in for Justin Medlock at kicker, hitting a 28-yard field goal and making all three convert attempts.

READ MORE: Nichols, Bighill get top performer honours for October

A 26-9 Calgary Stampeders victory over the B.C. Lions Saturday night clinched the West Division for the Stamps, meaning the winner of the Bombers-Riders game will head to Calgary for the West Final.

The Bombers and Riders met three times this season, with the Riders winning twice.

WATCH: Mike O’Shea – Oct. 30 media briefing

© 2018 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.