October 1, 2018 2:18 am
Updated: October 1, 2018 9:05 pm

Quebec election: Verdun results


Liberal Isabelle Melançon has won the riding of Verdun.

The electoral division of Verdun comprises the borough of Verdun in the City of Montreal.

The four candidates from parties serving in the National Assembly at dissolution:

Coalition Avenir Québec: Nicole Leduc
Parti Québécois: Constantin Fortier
Quebec Liberal Party: Isabelle Melançon
Québec Solidaire: Valerie Roy

Story continues below

The incumbent heading into the 2018 election was Liberal MNA Isabelle Melançon.

Melançon was elected in a 2016 byelection, with 1,216 votes over her Parti Québécois opponent.

At dissolution, she was minister of sustainable development, the environment and the fight against climate change.

The seat was previously held by Liberal Jacques Daoust.

The career administrator ran for office in 2014 and was immediately named to Philippe Couillard’s cabinet — first as minister of the economy, and then transport.

He resigned in August, 2016 over a controversy surrounding the sale of RONA shares by Investissement Québec. He passed away Aug. 3, 2017.


The electoral division of Verdun was created in 1922. Originally named Montreal-Verdun, it became Verdun in 1965.

Verdun’s history goes as far back as that of Montreal. Its first settler was Zacharie Dupuy, who put roots down in 1670.

The name he gave his fiefdom was a shortened version of his birthplace, the French district of Saverdun, in Ariège, France.

© 2018 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.