New Brunswick election: Kent South

Riding background

The 2013 redistricting saw the dissolution of the Kent riding. Kent South was created out of portions of the former districts of Kent and Kent South.


Liberal: Benoît Bourque (incumbent)

  • Served as Health Minister

Progressive Conservative: Ricky Gautreau

NDP: Serge Rémi Parent

Green: Alain Rousselle



Benoît Bourque won the newly-formed riding in the 2014 election, defeating Claude Williams who had been the PC incumbent in the former riding of Kent South. 

Story continues below advertisement

Bourque earned 48.7 per cent of the riding, while Williams earned 33.8 per cent.


PC incumbent Claude Williams retained his seat in Kent South during the 2010 election, while then-Liberal Party leader Shawn Graham retained his seat in Kent.