New Brunswick election: Quispamsis

Riding background

Until 2014, Quispamsis was considered a bellwether riding, having elected an MLA from the governing party every year since 1974.


Liberal: Aaron Kennedy

Progressive Conservative: Blaine Higgs (incumbent)

  • Leader of the New Brunswick Progressive Conservative Party
  • Served as Minister of Finance in the David Alward government

NDP: Ryan Jewkes

Green: Mark Woolsey

People’s Alliance: Keith Porter



Quispamsis was relatively unchanged during the 2013 redistricting process.

Story continues below advertisement

Incumbent Blaine Higgs held onto his seat in the 2014 election.

Higgs defeated Liberal candidate Mary Schryer with 51.4 per cent of the vote. Schryer earned 31.6 per cent


Liberal incumbent Mary Schryer was defeated by PC candidate Blaine Higgs in the 2010 general election.

Higgs won with 50.7 per cent of the vote while Schryer earned 34.2 per cent of the vote.