B.C. municipal election 2018: Langley (City) results

Val van den Broek has been elected mayor of Langley City – beating out the projected favourite Peter Fassbender by just over 200 votes. Fassbender was minister of education under the former provincial Liberal government.  Van den Broek, a one-time councillor, garnered 2,446 of the votes, while Fassbender only earned 2,240. The final candidate Serena Oh received 146 votes.

Incumbent councillors Paul Albrecht, Gayle Martin, Nathan Pachal and Rudy Storteboom were re-elected, along with newcomer Rosemary Wallace and Teri James.

Below is the full list of mayoral and councillor candidates in Langley.



Peter Fassbender

Serena Oh

Val van den Broek


Paul Albrecht (incumbent)

Story continues below advertisement

Dave Allison

Jack Arnold (incumbent)

Randy Caine

Corey Doherty

Jeff Jacobs

Teri James

Bruce Kilby

Gayle Martin (incumbent)

Andrew Mercier

Dana L Miller

Nathan Pachal (incumbent)

Mike Solyom

David Stingl

Rudy Storteboom (incumbent)

Rosemary Wallace


About 10 sq. km in size, the City of Langley is located in the Fraser Valley, west of Surrey and east of Abbotsford. Geographically, it is surrounded by the Township of Langley, which covers a larger area.

Population (2016)



Langley began life as a settlement known as “Innes Corners” before the name was changed to “Langley Prairie.”

Story continues below advertisement

A business centre built up along the (Old) Yale Road and continued growth prompted demand for better service levels.

Thus the City of Langley, distinct from the Township of Langley, was born in 1955.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Crime Severity Index (CSI) – 2016/B.C.

194.62 (20.89)/93.63 (-0.71)

Violent Crime Severity Index (CSI) – 2016/B.C.

135.49 (2.99)/74.86 (-9.81)

Political representation


John Aldag (Liberal) – Cloverdale-Langley City


Mary Polak (BC Liberal) – Langley

Sponsored content