B.C. municipal election 2018: Fort St. James results

Beverley Playfair has been elected mayor of Fort St. James.

Playfair won with 266 votes (53 per cent), according to CivicInfo BC. She will join councillors Paul Stent, Corey Gingrich, Jennifer Howell, and incumbent Judith Greenaway who all won Saturday night.

Below is the full list of mayoral and councillor candidates.



Russel Gingrich

Brenda Gouglas

Beverley Playfair


Dev R. Birdi (incumbent)

Peter Erikson

Brooke Eschuk

Story continues below advertisement

Corey Gingrich

Judith Greenaway (incumbent)

Jennifer Howell

Paul Stent


At the southern end of Stuart Lake in central B.C., Fort St. James is located about 50 kilometres north of Vanderhoof and just over 160 kilometres northwest of Prince Geroge along Highways 16 and 27.

Population (2016)



Fort St. James was founded by Simon Fraser as a post for the North West Company in 1806.

It lies within the territory of the Dakelh people.

The Hudson’s Bay Company turned Fort St. James into a centre for administration after 1821, and it remained so until 1857.

The trading post lasted until 1952, beyond the fur trade, which declined in the late 19th century.

Fort St. James didn’t see much growth until the B.C. railway was extended there in the 1960s; it helped to stir industrial growth in forestry and mining.

Story continues below advertisement

Some buildings in Fort St. James have been preserved as a national historic site.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Nathan Cullen (NDP)


John Rustad (BC Liberal)